Paving the Pathway to a Promising Future

Foothill Ranch Domestic & Elder Abuse Lawyer

Fiercely Advocating for the Safety and Legal Rights of Those Who Have Suffered Abuse

Sadly, many people live in constant fear of being mentally and physically abused by their spouse, partner, or caregiver. Abuse victims often feel hopeless and are not sure where they can turn to for help.

For this reason, The Bledsoe Firm of Orange County, CA, is passionately committed to helping those who have suffered abuse and helping them receive the justice they deserve.

Contact our law offices and ask to schedule a consultation with our experienced lawyer so that we may determine your legal options.

What Qualifies as Domestic or Elder Abuse?

Under California law, domestic abuse occurs when a person causes or threatens another with bodily injury or reasonably fear for their safety.

An individual may be charged with domestic abuse for harm committed against the following individuals:

  • Former or current spouse.
  • Former or current cohabitant.
  • An individual with whom they have a child.
  • An individual with whom they have an intimate or dating relationship.

An individual may be charged with elder abuse if they cause physical or emotional abuse, financially exploit, or neglect a victim who is age 65 or older. Some examples of elder abuse include:

  • Battery
  • Depriving seniors of basic needs such as food and water.
  • Sexual assault
  • The use of physical or chemical restraints not authorized by a physician.

What Are the Penalties for Domestic Abuse in California?

Domestic Abuse Penalties

If convicted of domestic violence in California, the accused can face a variety of criminal penalties, including:

  • Jail
  • Fines and victim restitution.
  • Mandatory domestic violence classes.
  • Protective order
  • Inability to legally own or possess firearms.
  • Deportation or inadmissibility for non-citizens.

Elder Abuse Penalties

If an individual is convicted of misdemeanor elder abuse, they could face up to one year in county jail, mandatory counseling, a $6,000 fine, and probation.

However, if convicted of felony elder abuse, the criminal penalties include:

  • Up to four years in state prison.
  • A $10,000 fine.
  • Mandatory counseling
  • Restitution
  • Probation

What Are the Benefits of Hiring a Domestic and Elder Abuse Lawyer?

Domestic or elder abuse can be traumatizing for victims and their families. However, having a skilled lawyer is the best way to ensure the responsible parties are held accountable for their actions.

For example, if the elder abuse occurred in a nursing home, a knowledgeable attorney understands the laws and what can be done to try and recover compensation for damages.

The Bledsoe Firm has comprehensive experience in handling domestic and elder abuse cases and knows what it takes to get results.

What Makes Your Domestic and Elder Abuse Lawyer the Right Choice for My Legal Needs?

The main objective of The Bledsoe Firm is to help clients who have suffered abuse obtain the justice they deserve. Our legal team recognizes that suffering any form of abuse can have long-lasting negative impacts on victims.

Even though we cannot change the past, The Bledsoe Firm is dedicated to advocating for our client’s safety and legal rights.

Contact our Orange County, California, law firm by calling 949-889-1227 and ask to schedule a consultation so that we may review your case and learn what we can do to assist you.